Tunnels mines and caverns

Shirts Mill Basin

Shirts Mill Basin was originally an underground loading area for limestone.

Castle Mill Basin

Originally an underground limestone mine, the basin is now a junction of four tunnels.

Hurst Cavern

The last of the mines to be worked under Castle Hill, named after the foreman. On its last day of operation a rockfall killed some of the workers there.

Wrens Nest Tunnel

This 1185 yard tunnel was completed about 1815. The Wren’s Nest Tunnel served a series of extensive limestone mines. The tunnel may be made navigable once more in the future.

Cathedral Arch

A unique vaulted underground canal junction on the main tunnel. The tunnel on the left was the original entrance to Little Tess and Dark Cavern. Straight ahead is the main Dudley Tunnel to Parkhead.

Little Tess

Originally part of a much larger cavern called Dark Cavern. The cavern was subject to a major roof fall and sealed.

The Well

The Well was given its name as when looking down it from the surface all that can be seen is the canal below. Its original use remains unknown, though some theorise it was to provide light for nearby Hurst Cavern. It is at the bottom of a trench where the Thin Bed of limestone was worked (the same as in Singing Cavern), so it may have simply collapsed.

Singing Cavern

Singing Cavern was last mined in the early 19th century. The canal extended for 330 yards from Rock Tunnel but the cavern itself, with a tramway along it, ended up near the centre of Dudley. Over the years the cavern has collapsed and approximately 100 yards of cavern is all that remains today. Seven limestone pillars support the roof, each weighing 300 tons and two loading shafts.